1. Dear visitor, you are viewing Rapid IPTV as a guest member who has restricted access to our forum. You can either sign-up or login with your username here: http://www.rapidiptv.com/login/

Is there any problems with the service?

Discussion in 'Feedback & Suggestions' started by Jansson, Aug 3, 2016.

Watchers:
This thread is being watched by 4 users.
  1. Jansson

    Jansson Reseller Reseller

    45%
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2016
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    56
    Liked:
    91
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Gender:
    Female
    Device:
    Samsung SIPTV and Mag
    Reseller Username:
    jansson
    I got a lot of customers that have the same problem today, when they start siptv on their tv it says: server connection timeout and they cant do anything, whats this?

    I have tried to delete the playlist link and upload a new one but its the same problem, please help
     
    Tags:
  2. Rapid IPTV

    Rapid IPTV Administrator Staff Member Administrator

    100%
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2015
    Messages:
    1,266
    Likes Received:
    1,107
    Liked:
    484
    Trophy Points:
    214
    Gender:
    Male
    Home Page:
    Device:
    Everything
    I think the ssiptv app's server is having problems...not sure. Everything is fine from our server side.
     
  3. harryporter

    harryporter Reseller Reseller Active Member

    100%
    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2015
    Messages:
    1,269
    Likes Received:
    307
    Liked:
    176
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Gender:
    Male
    Device:
    enigma 2, android tv, smartv, vlc, kodi etc
    Reseller Username:
    harryportir
    Try to deinstall and reinstall siptv app
     
  4. Jansson

    Jansson Reseller Reseller

    45%
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2016
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    56
    Liked:
    91
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Gender:
    Female
    Device:
    Samsung SIPTV and Mag
    Reseller Username:
    jansson
    I did that also but didnt work, but the problem is solved now.. I think it was siptv server that had problems...
     
  5. Ron Marinus

    Ron Marinus New Member

    10%
    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2016
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Liked:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    Device:
    Android/PC
    I have issues also with siptv app, when I start a channel that is in HD 1920x1080 then I only have sound, 720p and sd work great. According to the authur of siptv it's my .m3u file that is not compatable with his app.
    I use siptv on my Nvidia Shield TV (android) and thats is the problem according to the siptv guys, any more people who have these issues?

    Greetings
     
  6. harryporter

    harryporter Reseller Reseller Active Member

    100%
    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2015
    Messages:
    1,269
    Likes Received:
    307
    Liked:
    176
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Gender:
    Male
    Device:
    enigma 2, android tv, smartv, vlc, kodi etc
    Reseller Username:
    harryportir
    Disable the hls support in the settings of siptv app
     
  7. Cuvillier

    Cuvillier Reseller Reseller Active Member

    100%
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2016
    Messages:
    2,957
    Likes Received:
    595
    Liked:
    196
    Trophy Points:
    213
    Gender:
    Male
    Device:
    MINIX Neo U1
    Reseller Username:
    cuvillier
    Yes, as I reported
     
  8. Ron Marinus

    Ron Marinus New Member

    10%
    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2016
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Liked:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    Device:
    Android/PC
    Any idea how I disable this because I only have the Shield joystick and I have no clue how to get into the settings menu.

    Gr
     
  9. Cuvillier

    Cuvillier Reseller Reseller Active Member

    100%
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2016
    Messages:
    2,957
    Likes Received:
    595
    Liked:
    196
    Trophy Points:
    213
    Gender:
    Male
    Device:
    MINIX Neo U1
    Reseller Username:
    cuvillier
    Try to find if there is button with 3 point to access settings
     
  10. Ron Marinus

    Ron Marinus New Member

    10%
    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2016
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Liked:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    Device:
    Android/PC
    Thats the problem, there isn't any :(
     
  11. Cuvillier

    Cuvillier Reseller Reseller Active Member

    100%
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2016
    Messages:
    2,957
    Likes Received:
    595
    Liked:
    196
    Trophy Points:
    213
    Gender:
    Male
    Device:
    MINIX Neo U1
    Reseller Username:
    cuvillier
    You should check where is the option button on your device to access settings so.
     
  12. Ron Marinus

    Ron Marinus New Member

    10%
    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2016
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Liked:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    Device:
    Android/PC
    I did mate believe me I did but there is really no option to get into the settings menu, I even think that there isn't a settings menu for android devices because it's in a early stage of develoment.
     

Share This Page

Loading...